Weekend in Austin

I finally have some time to write a bit about the great weekend I had…

So, Tommie’s friend (who is a Texas football season ticket holder…thanks Marcus!) had an extra couple of tickets to the Texas vs. UNT game on Saturday. Tommie’s mom and sister were coming into town that same weekend so I got the green light to go to Austin all by my lonesome. I invited Lawrence to come watch the game with me (don’t worry Lyndon, there are more tickets to come :mrgreen:).

Packed up the truck and headed down to Austin Friday afternoon to miss some of the traffic. The drive was actually not that bad. Only hit traffic when I got to Temple. After getting into Austin, I had some time to kill so I headed to the Coop and bought me some t-shirts and a cap. Well, that killed about 10 minutes and Lawrence, Jessica, Richard and Ahn had still about 2 hours until they got into town. Decided to go to Lyndon and Kathie’s place (again, thanks guys for letting me crash at your pad) and hang out for a bit. This was my first time to their place and let me just say it looks awesome… the house does really look great guys…

Now, for this trip, the diet was completely off and I was taking FULL advantage of this. We met the guys at Shady Grove (lived 7 years in Austin and never went) and had an excellent chicken fried steak with green chile sauce on it…yum…fried food, how I miss you… Went back to Lyn and Kat’s place for some Texas Hold’em, beer and Xbox…what a great combination…:smile: I actually did pretty good for my first time playing Hold’em…I swear, it’s all business when these people play…the amount of trash talking is, well, let’s just say it more than just a ‘friendly’ game…cut to me going to sleep…time: 4:30AM…

On Saturday, more food… we went to Trudy’s North Star for brunch… I wanted everything on the buffet…twice… To say the least, I was dying when we got back to the house Nothing like working the food down with more Xbox…

Lawrence and I took off for the game and had a lot of fun watching Texas completely pummel UNT to a final of 65-0…it was fun…Marcus & Shannon were there and it was just really cool to finally talk football. I’m so tired of baseball… WOOHOO! FOOTBALL SEASON IS HERE!…ahem, sorry, slipped out…

That night, more great food…Rudy’s BBQ. Definetly ate with my eyes there as I got enough food to feed 3 people…man, that BBQ is good… After we got back to the house, more Hold’em and Xbox. Wasn’t as lucky on Saturday night as on Friday night… cut to me going to sleep… 4:30AM … again …

On Sunday, more food…Chicago style pizza this time and it was really good and for dessert, shaved ice…

I decided to head back to Dallas on Sunday instead of Monday…I missed Isabel (and you too Tommie :wink:)…the drive was super easy. It is, I think, the easiest drive I’ve ever had from Austin to Dallas. I made it home just fine. I struggled to stay awake though. Those 2 nights (or mornings, I should say) of staying up until 4:30AM caught up to me. I did make it til 10PM but as soon as my head touched my pillow, I was out…

On Monday, Tommie made burgers and hot dogs on the grill and I ate a bunch (hmm, I think eating was the theme of the weekend). After that, just relaxing and hanging out…

That was a great weekend…

Weight tally: On Friday – 180.8, On Monday – 185.6 … lol

EDIT: I would be remiss not to mention that the person that took me out both times on Texas Hold’em was none other that Jessica…don’t mess with a pregnant lady…

2 responses to “Weekend in Austin

  1. um, u forget to say that on both nights you did very well, except for the fact that jess took you out both times😛

    what’s cards without some trash talking. u got to get the player out of their game.

    staying up to 4:30am. ummmmm

  2. I edited it…it’s in there…happy?…lol

Leave a Reply

