What a good ride…

Saturday morning I tried to go out for a short ride (hadn’t been out in a while) and, I swear, the wind must’ve been blowing at around 30 miles per hour. Check that, just went to Wunderground to check their almanac and found out it was blowing at around 37 miles per hour. Needless to say, my ride didn’t last long as even when I was going downhill, it felt like I was going uphill with that head wind. Decided to try my luck Sunday morning.

Sunday morning rolls around, it’s around 7:45 A.M., I wake up and look out the window. Not a cloud in the sky, sunny…so far so good… This time I play it smart and check the wind forecast for today…calm…still doing good… One little hiccup: it is 27 degrees Fahrenheit… Still, I’m not fazed by the prospect of riding in subfreezing weather. I’ve been out there, riding, in the upper 30’s to lower 40’s and it wasn’t that bad. I put on my leg and arm warmers, my wind breaker under-shirt, long fingered gloves and saran wrap my sock covered toes to keep the wind out. I was ready…

Literally, ten minutes after starting my ride my fingers and toes are frozen. It hurts a little but I haven’t been out here riding in a while and they’ll go numb, hopefully, in a bit… By shear will power I make it out 10 miles out and just the thought of that hot shower after I get home brings me in. After I get home, I make sure that I still have feeling in all my limbs and actually, the rest of my body was fine. It was just my fingers and toes. Lesson learned….if it is under 32 degrees F wear thicker gloves and warmer socks.

To add insult to injury, before the ride I forgot to take my allergy medicine and had some kind of allergic reaction on my thighs, stomach and back that started itching like crazy after I got home…

I still say it was a good ride…I could definitely tell I hadn’t ridden in a couple of weeks. I can’t wait until the time changes so I can start riding on weekday afternoons again. Welp, here’s looking forward to next Saturday…

Leave a Reply

