First Week of School

Well I guess we have survived the first week of school. I haven’t decided yet who it was harder on – me or Isabel. Here is a detailed account for the first week.

Tuesday, October 25, 2005 – First Day.

Ricardo and I both went to drop her off. I start crying as we are walking up to the place (way to hold it together Tommie:sad:) We get to her room and she immediately starts playing. We are hanging around for a minute – talking to her teacher and dropping off her stuff. She finds a babydoll and is exploring her new classroom. All is well. (I am still bawling but haven’t let her see me cry). So we decide it is best if we leave, go finish up the paperwork and get going. We tell her bye and she starts crying! She wasn’t supposed to cry!!! I was really not expecting that at all. When I drop her off at church she doesn’t even blink or look back at me. So I start crying even more!! The teacher – Miss Kara – gets Isabel and gets her calmed down and playing with another little girl. Isabel cried for maybe all of 20 seconds. So we finish up the paperwork and leave. I cry all the way to work. I got to work at 9:30.

The school calls me around 10:30 and tells me that she is doing fine but got really upset when they went down the hall to bible class but she is fine now. They call me back at noon and say that she is very upset and I need to come get her because she does not want to settle down for quiet time. They said she is not crying but mad and screaming. I could hear her in the background. So I fly out of work to go get her. I got there and she walks out with her teacher very calm and says “Hi Mommy”. She was not upset or running to me or anything. I asked her if she had fun and she said yes.

So I’m thinking it was a total disaster! But then I talk to Zaida and she points out the positive. On her first day of school, being away from any of us for any length of time and she did pretty good. We knew going in nap time was going to be a challenge. She stayed for 3 hours with only minor hiccups. She is only 2 and this was a huge step for her. So after talking to Zaida I decide it went pretty well after all and she did have lots of fun.

The school told us this happens all the time and to pick her up after lunch again on Thursday and we will ease her into the full day over the next 2 weeks. I can handle that!

Thursday, October 27, 2005 – Day 2.

Today Jerry dropped Isabel off at school for the first time. He said she was a little hesitant at first but started playing with a few other kids right when they got in the room. He told her bye and she pretty much ignored him. Wow – I’m thinking great, no crying!!

At about 10:30 I call the school to see how she is doing. She tells me that she has been crying off and on all day long. My heart breaks! She went into her classroom and said Isabel was standing there holding her woobie in her arms…….my heart breaks harder! I want to jump in my car and get there as fast as I can. She tells me to hold off – let her stay until lunch and for Jerry to pick her up at 11:45. Jerry just called and said she was really happy to see him and told him “JJ – I don’t want to take a nap!”. Miss Kara said Isabel did better today and she even got a smile out of her (that in itself breaks my heart since Isabel is just a happy-go-lucky kid and is always smiling and laughing and having fun). Miss Kara said Isabel was telling her all about her birthday party at Chuck E Cheese.

I kept saying that I thought the second day would be harder for her but I didn’t really think it would happen…:oops: But today at 4 they are having a fall fest at the school and she gets to wear her JoJo costume and me and Jerry are going with her so hopefully that will make her like school a little bit more.

We will pick her up after lunch again next week and then the following week see if she will stay the whole day. Nap time will be a big challenge…she normally doesn’t take a nap until at least 1:30 and this one starts at 11:50.

Hopefully next week will go a little better.🙂 I will keep you posted!

One response to “First Week of School

  1. Hmmm…very interesting. I was just having a discussion today on preschools and stuff. Will have to let us know how it works out. One of my neighbors decided to pull her daughter out cause she just wasn’t really enjoying the experience. She loves being with mommy, can’t blame her. But I’m sure Isabel will do fine, she looked like she was having such fun at the festival. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

