Bye, Bye, Windows…

…well, for now.

I’ve taken a step toward Windows liberation. I backed up my hard drive (just in case we don’t mesh) and installed Ubuntu in my system drive. I’ve wet my feet before running the LiveCD but this time it’s a little more permanent.

My Ubuntu desktop.

So far, I’m doing good. I have found replacements for the applications I used in Windows (GIMP instead of Photoshop, Amarok instead of Winamp, k3b instead of Nero, etc…) and some of the applications have stayed the same (Firefox & Thunderbird). One thing is that this operating system is not for the command line squeamish. A lot of the things can be done graphically but it is so much easier in the command line. Thank goodness there is a great community (ubuntuforums.org) where you can get your questions answered before, during and after the transition.

2 responses to “Bye, Bye, Windows…

  1. cyberhippiekat

    this is kinda out there man!

  2. good, any OS away from windows is good.

Leave a Reply

