In Memoriam

Tonight my grandfather passed away. I haven’t seen him in a while since he lives in Dominican Republic but I already miss him. I am sad that I wasn’t able to see him recently but I am thankful that he met Tommie.

He is now gone but he will live forever in me and through me. From the many visit to the finca teaching us to ride horses and milk cows. To teaching us to always say thank you, not to whistle at the table while eating a meal and doing things for others “con mucho gusto y fina voluntad”. For always correcting my Spanish so I could speak eloquently (finish your words; r’s and s’s). For showing me to respect others for who they were and how they treated people. For enjoying life, music and poetry.

Lalo

Juan Llibre
1924 – 2008

7 responses to “In Memoriam

  1. That was exactly who he was, and he will live forever in us!!!! Love you all, Mami

  2. sorry for you loss bro. You know he’s proud to have grandchildren like you.

  3. Juan Llibre vivio en Puerto Rico y fue muy popular y muy querido entre nosotros. Para muchos, incluyendome a mi, fue el mejor declamador de su epoca. Buscando la poesia que hizo tan popular: Calle de la Veracruz me entere de su muerte. Reciban mis condolencias. Sinceramente Justina Di­az Bisbal

  4. El Gran Pesame..para la familia Libre Y su tributo a la Poesia y Vi da Real

  5. Hola Ricardo: soy amigo de tu tío José, y conocí a tu madre cuando trabajaba en TCN. De niño me gustaba escuchar a tu abuelo declamar y me gustaría escucharlo de nuevo. Sabes cómo puedo conseguir algún archivo mp3 con sus declamaciones? Saludos,

  6. Que barbaro que sentimiento ponia al recitar este poema palabra que hasta te hacia llorar y ahora que a él Dios lo Guarde

Leave a Reply

