To Sleep or not to sleep…

This is a warning to all the parents out there of young children: DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN SLEEP IN YOUR BED! (unless you want them there forever!). As most of you know, Isabel was hospitalized a few weeks ago and was pretty sick for about a week. During the time she was recovering, we let her sleep in our bed with us – big mistake – HUGE!

Up until she got sick, she would sleep in her big girl bed with no problems at all. Now, we have been battling for up to 2 hours every single night to get her to sleep in her bed and stay there all night. It is very frustrating, exhausting and especially heartbreaking! It is so hard to just put her back in her bed ignoring her pleas and cries but apparently that is how you must do it. I have scoured the internet, talked to lots of other moms and Isabel’s pediatrician.

And with Tori’s arrival imminent, it is especially critical that we get Isabel back in her bed. We have 4 weeks. 4 weeks!!!! We made a little progress, or so we thought last week.

The first night was horrible, I cried as much as Isabel did. So we instituted a sticker program where Isabel would get stickers for napping and sleeping in her bed, hoping the incentive would help. When she reached 10 stickers, she would get the Cabbage Patch Kid she had been wanting. The week trudged along, each night seeminly getting better. Friday night was great – by the new standards that is – only took about 40 minutes for her to stay in her bed and fall asleep. She slept all night long and didn’t wake up until 7:30 Saturday morning! She had earned her doll so we went and picked it out.

Saturday night was a NIGHTMARE! She went to sleep with minimal (less than an hour) of getting in and out and in and out of bed. But then she woke up at 2 AM and didn’t go back to sleep until 4:30! And then woke up at 7:30!! UGH!!

Last night wasn’t much better, she finally went to sleep at 10:15 but that was only because I was so tired I couldn’t fight her anymore and I layed on her floor until she fell asleep (which took all of 45 seconds!). And for me to lay on the floor at this point in my pregnancy is not all that comfy!!

So then she gets up at 2 and wants milk. I give her some milk against my better judgement but I am so tired at this point I would have given her a pony had she asked! Ten minutes later she is back in my room with her cup. “here mama, i’m finished – will you sleep on my floor please?” in the cutest little whisper you have ever heard! So, I go and lay on her floor until she falls asleep. About 15 minutes later I am back in my bed – 3 and 1/2 hours left to sleep. She comes back in – “mama, why did you leave, come back please and lay on my floor.” So there I am again, back on her floor. I drift off and wake up 2 hours later at 5 AM. I go back to my room – about 45 minutes to sleep. Next thing I know, she is my room again – “mama – i wanna watch TV, its morning!” And lo and behold my alarm goes off. Welcome to Monday!

Last night probably set us back another week with me sleeping on the floor and giving her milk. So tonight we start again. Wish us luck!

Parents – consider yourself warned!!🙂

Oh, the joys of parenthood! But of course, I wouldn’t trade her for the world!

One response to “To Sleep or not to sleep…

  1. nice!
    “I am so tired at this point I would have given her a pony had she asked”
    priceless

Leave a Reply

